Region Free Blu-Ray Player

Discussion in 'General' started by YottNik, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. YottNik

    YottNik Pay the price!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    BFE, Ohio
    My old one recently crapped out. Any suggestions for a budget friendly region free player?
     
  2. Darga

    Darga Narcissistic Personality

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I've got a pretty inexpensive Sony that's served me well for a few years, but I'm away from home at the moment so I can't look up the model number. I'll look into it when I get back in a couple of days.
     
    Katatonia likes this.
  3. buck135

    buck135 Kanamit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,635
    Likes Received:
    1,300
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    A dimension of sight, sound and mind.
    Zombie Dude likes this.
  4. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,333
    Likes Received:
    5,033
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    I have a Sony BDP-S5200 (hardware modified) that I bought from Bombay back in 2014. 5 years of heavy abuse, and it literally plays friggin' anything without any issues, even problem discs. I'm surprised it's lasted this long actually, but it's still ticking like new for now.
     
    Darga, Myron Breck and buck135 like this.
  5. Darga

    Darga Narcissistic Personality

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I just checked. Mine is a Sony BDP-S3500 (hardware modified) that I got from Bombay Electronics in 2016. It's been my sole player and has worked great.
     
    Katatonia likes this.
  6. maybrick

    maybrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    11,718
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Keene, NH
  7. satans-sadists

    satans-sadists Ghost

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9,969
    Likes Received:
    4,628
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Big Tuna, TX
    I am having an issue at the moment with my region free player. It's an older LG model I got in 2013. Been switching regions for me just fine all these years. Now, all of a sudden I can't play one of the Vinegar Syndrome new releases: Martial Law. Last thing I watched before that was the Second Sight Dawn of the Dead Blu-ray release (in Region B). Getting an error message that it's locked to Region A. I switched the region on my player to Region A. Still won't play. Did it repeatedly, same result. Even put in a Scream Factory disc (they are always locked to Region A). Plays that just fine. Will not play Martial Law. Turned the player off and back on. Nothing works. Never happened before.

    Does anyone have any tips or advice that might work?
     
  8. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,333
    Likes Received:
    5,033
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    Is it a hardware modified player? You might try unplugging it. Have you installed new firmware recently? That could possibly be a problem.
     
    satans-sadists likes this.
  9. satans-sadists

    satans-sadists Ghost

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9,969
    Likes Received:
    4,628
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Big Tuna, TX
    Wow, unplugging it actually worked! Thank you so much! Never even thought to try something so basic as that.
     
    Katatonia likes this.
  10. Paff

    Paff Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    9,370
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SoCal
    "Shut up and reboot" - Dogbert's Tech Support
     
  11. wago70

    wago70 Surviving on nostalgia

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,014
    Likes Received:
    458
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Francisco - down by them two ol' sheds
    SAME! I had the same issue with the Dawn extras Blu and just put it away. Will do the same thanks for posting!
     
    satans-sadists likes this.
  12. YottNik

    YottNik Pay the price!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    BFE, Ohio
    Over a year late but... I never bothered to get a new one, instead just complained for a year about not being able to watch my foreign discs. The stupid tray refused to open and I just got frustrated and moved on. Fast forward to a few days ago... I finally opened the thing up and futzed with the magnetic thingy that spins the disc. I think the magnet was a bit too strong and was lifting up the disc just enough to block the tray from opening. Loosening the screws a bit on that guy seems to have fixed it for now. It’s a cheapy Insignia player but I’m riding it for as long as it’ll last.

    Little victories!
     
    X-human likes this.
  13. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,333
    Likes Received:
    5,033
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    Glad it worked! ;) My Sony player has inexplicably locked up a couple of times over the years and no buttons would work or do anything at all... but unplugging it resets the player somehow. So if all else fails I just resort to that, and more oft than not it does work when an odd problem arises.
     
    satans-sadists likes this.
  14. Paff

    Paff Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    9,370
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SoCal
    what model Sony? I have the BDP-S360 (my first player, purchased in 2009) that will occasionally refuse to play a disc and I have to unplug it and start it up again to remove the disc. Cycling the power from the player is not enough. This is almost exclusive to discs from Shout Factory, by the way. I'm guessing it need a firmware upgrade, but Sony stopped doing those for this player back in 2012 so I'm stuck. Luckily my region-free player will play the discs, but it's such a PITA (takes several minutes to do it) that with Shout discs I almost always just play them in the region-free without first checking if they'll crash my Sony.
     
  15. Katatonia

    Katatonia Hellbound Heart

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    23,333
    Likes Received:
    5,033
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Missouri
    Mine is a hardware modified Sony BDP-S5200. I've never had any issues with it playing discs at all to be honest, and I've had it for over 6 years now and it's gotten a ton of use. It's only really "locked up" 2-3 times over the years, and that was usually just a playback glitch or something. The player hasn't had a firmware update in years, but I still haven't had any problems with newer Blu-rays on it.

    It will literally play anything, no trouble with Shout discs. Shout uses BD-J so their menus can be slow at times, and some players do have issues with that.
     
  16. maybrick

    maybrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    11,718
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Keene, NH
    Something weird has happened to my Yamaha player. It used to be that if I wanted to watch a region B disc I had to press the “2” on my remote and then press “1” to go back to A. Last night I found that neither one of those buttons turn on the player anymore, but I can now play everything from either region without any effort at all. This sounds great on the surface but I’m concerned that it may be a warning sign of some sort of imminent failure. Has anyone else experienced something like this? I contacted the seller directly for their opinion.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2022
  17. buck135

    buck135 Kanamit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,635
    Likes Received:
    1,300
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    A dimension of sight, sound and mind.
    I haven't had that issue, but my LG players don't switch over easily. It can take 2-5 tries to get the region that I want.

    The only issue I've ever had with a region free player was the tray opened/closed on its own after many years of use.
     
  18. russweiss

    russweiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4,665
    Likes Received:
    2,558
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I purchased an inexpensive player several years ago and it automatically plays all regions without me having to do anything. I've never had any issues with it.
     
  19. Paff

    Paff Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    9,370
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SoCal
    Was there maybe a firmware update? And you have your player set to automatically update? I'd check the FW version, see if it's dated, well, yesterday. Maybe the firmware update made your player even easier to use. That said, I'd probably turn off automatic updates in case an update did something to the region-free capability.
     
  20. maybrick

    maybrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    11,718
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Keene, NH
    No updates. Yamaha is out of the blu ray player business so I doubt there’s going to be any more.
    I finally had to manually change the region to watch The Fog so maybe I just had an incredible run of choosing region free discs? Anyways. Weird.
     

Share This Page