Would you like your Panasonic DMP-BD30 Region free without chipping? Read on.

Discussion in 'General' started by hots4, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. Zombie Dude

    Zombie Dude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6,816
    Likes Received:
    1,748
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Australia
    The DMP 75 cheat does not not work on my Sony BDP S480. It may just be a Panasonic hack.
     
  2. hots4

    hots4 Dogs In White

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Thats a shame i was hoping this would work on other makes/models, hopefully it will work on a few and not just be a panasonic exclusive.
     
  3. Getmoredvdsout

    Getmoredvdsout New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't work on 3D Panasonic DMP-BDT300 unfortunately
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2012
  4. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Has anyone tried it with a Panny BD80? Presume this is similar to a 30 and a 75?
     
  5. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Anybody else tried this hack yet. Really need this to be 100% true before i start biying region A Blus
     
  6. hots4

    hots4 Dogs In White

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    have you tried the stop and top menu with the blu ray's you have? on my friends sony (can't remember the model), when we tried to press stop once the disc was loading the machine would not let it, so if you can stop and go straight to the main menu using the key hack on your machine with a region B disc, it will work on a region A disc.
     
  7. dickieduvet

    dickieduvet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Works on my Panasonic BD35, About to upgrade to the Panasonic DMP-BDT120....Sounds like it won't work on that one :confused:
     
  8. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Yes i can get it to do this. So i shud b good to go then. Cheers!!!!
     
  9. hots4

    hots4 Dogs In White

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would say it will work, i would definately get a region A disc now.
     
  10. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Just ordered a cheapie off Amazon. The Grand Duel and Keoma double pack. 3 quid shipped. Even if it doesent work its hardly alot of money. I can also try the other method you originally posted with the SD card button on the remote. Mine has this button also. I presume they all have. Thanks for the tips. Fingers crossed
     
  11. dickieduvet

    dickieduvet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I have Keoma/Grand Duel and it doesn't work with the panny cheat unfortunately.
     
  12. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Oooooops. Have cancelled the order. I take it this hack can be a little hit and miss. I was after Hatchet which someone in this thread has already said works but does anyone know of any other. Would really like Twins of Evil and Mad Max to name but two. Cheers
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  13. dickieduvet

    dickieduvet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Neither of those work, Criterion's Videodrome does as do Pirahna, Humanoids From The Deep, Hatchet & a few others I tried.

    these don't:

    Carrie
    The Amityville Horror
    Mad Max
    Twins Of Evil
    Vampire Circus
    Battle Beyond The Stars
    House Of 1000 Corpses
     
  14. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Hey thanks for heads up. So it isnt really a hack as not all blu rays work. Its just how the disc was produced with some being able to be played and others not. Shame about Twins of Evil. If anybody has a list of other titles it would be interesting to see. Are there any particular distributors whos Blu rays work. Cheers
     
  15. hots4

    hots4 Dogs In White

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    dickieduvet is using the dmp35 machine/hack i honestly believe the stop top menu will work on the reg a blu you ordered
     
  16. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Have cancelled the order now. Getting conflicting views on this. Dickieduvet says some definatly dont including the spaghetti western disc i had ordered as well as Twins of Evil and Mad Max which were also on my wishlist.
     
  17. dickieduvet

    dickieduvet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I am using a UK Panasonic BD35 and the cheat doesn't work with all US locked discs, I have well over 1000 BD's from all over the world and have tried all of my region A locked discs....

    Keoma/Grand Duel doesn't work as I stated in my post earlier, It's not a random process it's mostly older locked releases that work. All of Shout Factories early releases work but their newer output doesn't (Halloween III etc..)

    Some Criterion BD's do Videodrome, Five Easy Pieces, Blow Out etc... But Days Of Heaven, Walkabout don't...
     
  18. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Thanks for that. I wont get carried away with buying Blu rays then. Have you tried the other way of doing this that hots4 suggested which was stopping the disc before the wrong region info comes on the screen and then pressing top menu? Wouldnt want to do this alot though. Wouldnt have thought it would do the disc drive any favours in the long run. Thanks
     
  19. dickieduvet

    dickieduvet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, Do it both ways. Both exactly the same process with the same effect.
     
  20. Eddyw78

    Eddyw78 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derby UK
    Thanks Dickieduvet. At least i know now. Thought this was to good to be true.
     

Share This Page