Lady in White

Discussion in 'High Def' started by Dave, Oct 23, 2016.

1. Dave

Dave Pimp

[​IMG]

[​IMG] Reviewer: Dave
    Review Date: October 23, 2016

Released by: Scream Factory
    Release date: 9/27/2016
    MSRP: $29.99 (Buy now at Amazon and help support the site)
    Region A
    Progressive Scan
    Codec: AVC, 1080p
    Widescreen 1.85:1

If you have read any of my past reviews, you likely know about my love for the laserdisc format. I’m grateful to the format for many reasons. Most importantly, there was a strong horror presence on the format thanks to Elite Entertainment and The Roan Group, with some occasional releases tossed in from Criterion, Grindhouse Releasing, EC Entertainment (many releases, actually), and I’m sure some others that I’m forgetting about. Thanks to some of the aforementioned companies, laserdisc introduced me to many of the genre greats. While I’m still no expert in all things horror, back in the mid to late 90s I knew far less than I do in 2016. My way of finding new horror flicks to watch back then? Scouring the early roads of the World Wide Web and looking for any horror movies that were available on laserdisc. That’s how I first discovered Lady in White, released in 1997 by Elite Entertainment. Elite took filmmaker Frank LaLoggia’s baby and put out a beautiful special edition laserdisc. On a side note, I suppose I should mention that Elite also put out DVD shortly after the laserdisc release. Now, nearly 20 years later, Scream Factory is releasing Lady in White on a special edition bluray. It may not be labeled with their ‘Collector’s Edition’ title, but there is lots that is special about this release – most notably a never-before-released third cut, labeled ‘Extended Director’s Cut’. Lets jump in and have a look at the Lady in White.

The Story